School district gets highest mark

Posted 12/3/10

Littleton Public Schools is one of 14 districts in the state given the highest rating under the Education Accountability Act of 2009. LPS has been …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Don't have an ID?

Print subscribers

If you're a print subscriber, but do not yet have an online account, click here to create one.


Click here to see your options for becoming a subscriber.

If you made a voluntary contribution in 2022-2023 of $50 or more, but do not yet have an online account, click here to create one at no additional charge. VIP Digital Access includes access to all websites and online content.

Our print publications are advertiser supported. For those wishing to access our content online, we have implemented a small charge so we may continue to provide our valued readers and community with unique, high quality local content. Thank you for supporting your local newspaper.

School district gets highest mark


Littleton Public Schools is one of 14 districts in the state given the highest rating under the Education Accountability Act of 2009.

LPS has been given the rating of “Accredited with Distinction” by the Colorado Department of Education. The new accreditation process establishes an expanded set of indicators that places value on academic growth and success in preparing students for college and career readiness. The process was launched by Senate Bill 09-163 and emphasizes outcomes that matter most for students.

“For us it’s a great validation and testament to the work our teachers and principals do every day,” said Patty Turner, director of learning services at the district.

The evaluations are based on four performance indicators: academic achievement, academic growth, gaps in growth levels for a variety of historically disadvantaged subgroups and success in preparing students for post-secondary and work force readiness (based on dropout rates, graduation rates and scores on the ACT college entrance exam). In some cases, the final assignment is based on additional data provided by the school district.

LPS was the only district in the Denver metro area to receive the highest distinction.

Turner attributes LPS’ high rating to the teachers. The rating is not only a result of CSAP scores, it is also a measure of student growth.

“We have had very systematic professional development over the past three or four years on literacy and math,” Turner said. “Teachers are becoming more and more skilled. I think it’s a measure of how effective our teachers are.”

In all, 111 of the state’s 186 school districts (61 percent) were rated as “Accredited with Distinction” or “Accredited.” Ninety-seven were rated as “Accredited.”

“The majority of Colorado school districts provide high-quality learning opportunities for students and these results bear out that fact,” said Colorado State Board of Education Chairman Bob Schaffer in a prepared statement. “Congratulations to these districts that are accredited with distinction and are setting a high bar for performance and delivering on the promise to students.”

After “Accredited with Distinction,” “Accredited,” and “Accredited with Improvement Plan,” the remaining accreditation categories each come with an increased level of state oversight and support. Those categories are: “Accredited with Priority Improvement Plan” and “Accredited with Turnaround Plan.

The Colorado Department of Education will recognize school districts rated as “Accredited with Distinction” at 10 a.m. Thursday, Dec. 9. in the main lobby at CDE, 201 E. Colfax Ave., in Denver. The event is scheduled to include Gov. Bill Ritter, State Board of Education Vice-Chair Randy DeHoff, Commissioner Jones and Associate Commissioner Richard Wenning.

For a complete list of district accreditation ratings, visit

Districts “Accredited with Distinction”

Academy School District 20, Aspen School District 1, Cheyenne Mountain School District 12, Expeditionary BOCES (Rocky Mountain School of Expeditionary Learning), Hinsdale County School District RE-1, Kiowa County School District C-2; Lewis-Palmer School District 38, Littleton Public Schools, Ouray School District R-1, Plateau School District RE-5, Prairie School District RE-11, Ridgway School District R-2, Steamboat Springs School District RE-2 and Telluride School District


Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.