🎉   Welcome to our new web site!   🎉

For the next 30 days, we’re providing free access to non-subscribers so you can see what we have to offer. And if you subscribe by June 1, you’ll get a 25% discount on your subscription! We hope you’ll like what you see and want to support local media.

My name is...Laura High

Singer, teacher, theatrical costumer

Posted

Renaissance woman

I’m a voice and piano teacher. I work out of my home, and I’ve done it for 27 years. It’s evolved into this weird renaissance life where I do lessons, I teach special-needs students, I take in sewing, I do costumes for local theater and I work part-time for a geologist.

I work in my church — I’m the soprano section leader, and occasional director of our choir at St. Frances Cabrini Catholic Church. I’ve been doing that for almost 30 years. I do solo stuff for funerals and wedding. I’ve done some theater too, though not as much as my daughter.

Special needs, special rewards

Working with special-needs kids is pretty intense. I work with Magic Moments Inc. It’s a theatrical organization, and they put on a show every spring. The shows incorporate special needs adults and children — they audition, they rehearse, they learn choreography and they get to be in a show. The end product is a five-day run. A lot of students want to take voice lessons, so I teach them like all my mainstream students. They have to practice, they have to keep up with their lessons, they have to memorize music. I teach all sorts of people, but the special needs students are where my heart is, because they find so much joy and accomplishment in it.

I was costuming last year for Colorado Children’s Theater, and we were doing “Beauty and the Beast,” and I made a Mrs. Potts costume — it looks like a teapot. One of the little girls with not much confidence, who had been struggling with her character, the minute she put that costume on, she just was Mrs. Potts. We just all cracked up because from then on she had to walk around with her arms like her handle and her spout.

Family life

I was born in Denver and moved around a lot as a kid. I’m a single lady with a 33-year-old daughter. It’s just the two of us, although she’s in Utah for the summer doing a show. We’ve got a little dog named Maestro.

I love what I do. I’ve thought about getting a full-time job, but to me, normal is boring. I love the variety in my life. I draw and paint and do needlework, too. It’s a great way to live.

Comments

Our Papers

Ad blocker detected

We have noticed you are using an ad blocking plugin in your browser.

The revenue we receive from our advertisers helps make this site possible. We request you whitelist our site.