Littleton mayor not running for re-election


Littleton Mayor Doug Clark announced at the Aug. 2 council meeting that he will not seek re-election.

Clark’s four-year term is expiring this year. He was originally elected to a two-year term as an at-large candidate in 2005 and won an additional four years in 2007. He also served as a District 4 representative from 1995-99.

Clark said he wanted time to pursue other endeavors.

According to the City of Littleton website, Clark acts as a council liaison to Arapahoe County Mayors and Managers, the Audit Committee, Metro Mayors Caucus, Metro Mayors Commission Youth Awards and the Old Hire Fire Pension Board. He works as a computer consultant.

Candidates began circulating petitions Aug. 2 and need to turn in a completed form with 50 signatures of support by 5 p.m. Aug. 22 to be included on the ballot in November. Once the new council is established, councilmembers will elect their own mayor and mayor pro tem.

Among incumbents, District 4 Councilmember Debbie Brinkman and at-large representative Peggy Cole have both filed to run for re-election.

Jose Trujillo, of District 2, stated last month he will not seek another term. Jerry Valdes, a member of the Littleton Housing Authority Board, and James Boone, an employee of the Regional Transportation District, have announced they will pursue that seat.

Retired Littleton Police Cmdr. Bruce Beckman and businessman David Novinger have announced they will challenge for the two available at-large seats.

The terms of councilmembers Bruce Stahlman, Jim Taylor and Phil Cernanec won’t expire until 2013.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment